May 27, 2010, 02:19:11 PM
News: Check out the tees, hoodies, and totes available at Ironandwine.com
Pages: 1 ... 13 14 [15]
Print
Author Topic: Books Thread  (Read 6007 times)
MRadford.505
Beneath The Balcony

Sounds fun.

Email
« Reply #210 on: April 25, 2010, 07:22:13 PM »

On another note, since we're in the books thread - has anyone here read The Sea Wolf?

"And let These Our Words speak forth from the dirt, lest our feet ever leave the ground."
Mitch
Full Grown Man
Global Moderator

kmf504
WWW Email
« Reply #211 on: May 12, 2010, 02:00:26 PM »

Ok so let's start this here I guess, it seems like I got some pretty strong reaction from my Ayn Rand comments. Let me clear this up first and foremost, I am not a proponent of Ayn Rands' philosophic ideas. Having said that, I enjoyed reading Atlas Shrugged and The Fountainhead. I thought that they were extremely entertaining books, much the same as I found Fitzgerald's work interesting i.e. The Great Gatsby, The Last Tycoon, and This Side of Paradise. I don't agree with any of her anti-zeitgeist principles. In fact as far philosophy goes im a huge fan of Camus, which is completely the opposite of Rands belief systems. So, let's talk about the books, did anyone find them uninteresting or terrible, as far as the story goes? This is what I am trying to figure out. I find that time in America to be extremely interesting.

"Dress Sexy At My Funeral, My Good Wife" Bill Callahan
MRadford.505
Beneath The Balcony

Sounds fun.

Email
« Reply #212 on: May 12, 2010, 02:17:40 PM »

Ha ha, I don't mind that you like Rand. I've never read any, but I hear she's a fantastic writer.

"And let These Our Words speak forth from the dirt, lest our feet ever leave the ground."
Jen
16, Maybe Less

Email
« Reply #213 on: May 12, 2010, 02:22:25 PM »